top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSanya Samla

LANGUAGE ANALYSIS- Task 1

Task 1:

The article I will be writing for my magazine is about fashion, more specifically Pakistani fashion. I will be showing and explaining different traditional looks, wedding wear, and trends. The tone I would like to set is light hearted and informative. The goal is for the reader to enjoy reading about fashion and the beauty of it. Many people do not know what goes into the work or how important fashion is to the culture, so informing them in a fun way is what will maintain the reader’s attention.

The double page spread that is most similar to the one I am planning on creating. It is a review on musicians and their music. The author uses different methods to capture the reader’s attention, such as breaks and diction that you might not usually hear in an article. The article gives a short summary of the musicians life before they made music and their commentary. They break in between the descriptions of her life with quotes of the musician reflecting. They do this with the other musician as well. They give background to how they got to the place they did with their music and connections and how they were discovered. They use casual diction to entice all readers. There are also reviews from fans on the side of the page giving their opinions on the music being discussed. They also have a question and answer section from the musician himself.

After looking at this double page spread, I was inspired. I would like to also put background information in the article about Pakistani clothing- where the traditions come from and etc. I would also like to include the creating process of the clothes and how we got to the trends we have right now. I also want reviews from people who wear the clothes and who their favorite designers are. However, I also realized what I did not want. I did not want as many words as this spread had. This review was based on a musician and their music, so the amount of words is justified. But, I am creating a review of fashion, something that needs a lot more pictures with captions than descriptions. This sample review has shown me what I do and do not want to do. It will enhance my spread and help create something that is best for my topic.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Double Page Spread Changes

My rough draft had a lot of white space so to eliminate that, I added graphics around the models to showcase them more as well as apply backgrounds to the text of the article to make them more legible

Cover Changes

From this cover to the final cover, I changed the style of the text as well as the title. I decided to create a unique title that would be specific to my magazine. For the teaser titles, I changed the

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page